Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have diverse opinions regarding whether teachers should set homework for students. While some individuals consider it to be an unnecessary burden on school children, I contend that assigning a certain amount of out-of-class assignments has a positive effect on both their academic performance and personal development. There are several reasons why opponents believe that young learners should not be given extra work after school. Firstly, based on the results of doing assignments, some educationists have found that these tasks play a negligible role in enhancing pupils’ exam grades, making them a heavy load rather than a facilitator. Moreover, many parents point out that their children are required to stay at school and study for a long time, leaving them less time to continue their education at home. Additionally, it is undeniable that leisure time is as valuable as study time; ‘All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy’. Therefore, after a hard day at school, youngsters deserve to engage in recreational activities such as participating in sports, playing instruments, and doing crafts, which are beneficial for their comprehensive growth. Despite these arguments, I maintain that the advantages of completing after- school assignments outweigh the disadvantages. One of the main benefits is that these exercises can significantly help pupils consolidate what they have learned in class, thereby giving them a deeper understanding of the material. Furthermore, to complete various projects in different subjects on time, young people need to learn how to make an appropriate schedule, which can improve their self-discipline, develop time management and problem-solving skills, and prepare them to be productive workers as adults. In fact, with the promotion of educational reform, many countries have implemented new policies to ensure children have more spare time and a limited number of academic tasks after school, making the setting of these assignments more reasonable. In conclusion, while it is understandable why some people argue against assigning work when students come home from school, I argue that the benefits of these assignments outweigh the drawbacks.