Many people believe that the high levels of violence in films today are causing serious social problems. What are these problems and how could they be reduced?

There is an opinion that some movies, which contain violent scenes, are the reason for the relevant social issues. One of these problems is films’ negative impact on children’s and teenager’s psychology and can be solved by more careful parental supervision. To begin with, some genres of movies include a huge number of scenes with blood, murders or assaults. This kind of content can be upsetting for sensible and emotionally unstable people, and, exceptionally, for youngsters. It can be explained that they still do not have a fully formed mind, so it can be easily affected by information they consume. Despite the fact that they could watch various genres, the violent ones are more likely to be remembered and have the greatest impact on the brain. For instance, teenagers, who enjoy and prefer watching horror or action films, tend to be more anxious and depressed. Nevertheless, this problem would be fixed, if the adults were more cautious and thoughtful about their child’s movie choices. In this case, young people would have known what kind of content is forbidden for them to view. Moreover, parents need to explain the sensible reasons for it, so this will not be accepted as a punishment. As a result, children will be more aware about their mental health and possible problems caused by external sources of information. To conclude, the issue of high cruelty levels shown on TV screens is significant these days, since it can result in the increase of younger generations’ mental illnesses. However, this can be partly alleviated by better monitoring by a parent.