Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people.  Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, some suppose that sports become one of the crucial parts of our modern society while many think free-time activities are more important than sports. This essay will discuss both views before giving a reasonable conclusion. To begin with, sports play a vital role in our health and nations. There are tremendous sports which we can do in our daily life helping us to improve our mental and physical development. Swimming, for example, is one of the funniest sports that children might do on the weekends with their parents. It not only creates a remarkable time between family members but also has positive effects on human health and well-being. Furthermore, sports are considered a national symbol in every country. Annually, there are thousands of international competitions being held such as the World Cup or Olympics, and this is also a chance for all of national athletics to show their abilities with their counterparts. On the other hand, some people claim that leisure activities outweigh sports because of their benefits. Firstly, entertaining activities are a method helping people unwind and recharge energy after a long period of working. For instance, a popular activity that could be named is watching films on Netflix. There are many choices for them with an affordable payment instead of a luxury ticket for sports. However, free-time activities also include negative effects on people who are addicted to them. Spending hours and hours on the Internet has been becoming a serious issue for young generations resulting in bad academic performance or health problems. In conclusion, I believe that sports and leisure activities have their advantages but there still consist the drawbacks of these kinds of entertainment.