It is sometimes said that people should be encouraged to get married before they are 30, as this is best both for the individual and for society. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Engineering is the most male-dominated field in the world. It may perhaps be the most male-dominated profession in Sri Lanka, with women making up only a mere 1% of the engineering workforce. Many scholars have found that female students do as well or better than male students in schools, but often point to the hegemonic masculine culture of engineering itself as a reason for leaving. However, despite how I am treated in gender stereotypical ways, mostly by my peers, I am always trying to stand out from the crowd. My family is an extended family, and most of our relations are living in the neighborhood while I am being the only girl among the children. Because all my cousins were men, I learned how to compete with them by mastering skills not only related to education but also related to life that are necessary for surviving in society. My passion for engineering became me an engineer, and within a short period of time I was able to promote to a senior position which involves not only engineering but also managing people. This is where I faced many difficulties as most of the people that I get to manage were much older men than me and had greater experience in their fields. At first, they did not want to follow my orders as the supervisor, yet I found a way to get them onto my path. I tried to get close to them by solving issues related to work that they faced every day, and eventually I learned to listen to them, which brought a greater impact when moving as a team. I made myself as a listener and I appreciated my teammates for their achievements and initiatives they have taken on behalf of company well being, regardless of how small they were, yet they started trusting me and even following me. Other than my carrier, I am a director of the company owned by my husband where I have responsibilities mostly related to human resources management including recruiting. In this role, I always try to put myself as a transformational leader because I value employee relationship and I want our company to succeed through inspired as well as motivated team. Currently, as a company, we serve more than 700 local clients and 300 international clients. Even though most of larger scale companies lost their income with the Covid-19 pandemic, we managed to stay in the business and help our employees to cope with the situation. I have been working in the director position from 2016, and I have been dealing with many challenges as a daughter, a wife, an engineer and as a director. Though I feel that I am successful with work life balance, yet I strongly trust that there are much more to learn and I always try to find answers to the question “is there a better way?”. Therefore, strongly trust that, I can master management skills that are offered at your institution, and I will be able perform in highest standard and give a better outcome to stakeholders. To conclude, I’m keen to earn an MBA at the University Canada West and become one of the best engineering entrepreneurs in the field.