The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

Nowadays, the modern society has faced another challenge in the youth upbringing, namely, a lack of children's interest in reading compared to their involvement into other entertainments. Such an unfortunate tendency might be caused by the overusing of the Informational technology and lacking of time among parents to control their kids' free time. For the purpose of this essay possible reasons and available solutions will be discussed further. One of the first reasons that children quit reading the books is the world's worship to the Information technology. Indeed, today more and more schoolers own different types of mobile devices with the constant access to the Internet. They find it simpler and more exciting to spend their time with gadgets instead of "investing" it on reading. Another reason of the examined problem is that busy parents failure to convince their children in benefits of reading. In fact they often demonstrate their descendants a bad example by choosing to watch TV or play computer games rather than to read a book. In terms of possible solutions the first option that comes to mind is to restrict kids' access to the gadgets and to increase relieved time on spending with the book reading. Well, it is easier to say than to do so. Thus, to reach this target the parents should work hard on revealing their children's hidden interests and potentials. Knowing kids preferences the adults can provide age and interests appropriate books that might intrigue the little ones. After reading a couple of fascinating novels children would definitely ask and search for more of these. In addition, parents should demonstrate by their own example how fun, interesting and important is to read. To conclude, the children interest in reading has decreased due to a few reasons, namely uncontrolled access to the Informational technology and gadgets, and lack of parents attention to the reading issue. I strongly believe that parents involvement is a number one component in the path towards developing reading habits among the young generation.