A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the use of others is rapidly declining. It is a negative or positive development?

The prominence of some languages in many countries rises while others significantly decrease is considered as a drawback. This essay will clarify the reasons and give some relative examples. On the one hand, It is noticeable that the downward trend of using uncommon languages causes language loss. It means that the rapid decline of languages can result in the loss of unique culture and linguistic knowledge. If a language disappears, the accumulated wisdom, traditional practices and historical perspective might become oblivious, contributing to threats to the survival and well-being of these indigenous cultures. Furthermore, language loss can erode cultural diversity and diminish the richness of human expression. For example, when being asked to name the country owning a language named Dalmatian, 9 in 10 people participating in the Linguistic Survey conducted by UNESCO could not recognize the given one belongs to Croatia as it has disappeared since the 19th Century. On the other hand, the dominance of some popular languages leads to inequality. In other words, language inequality can perpetuate social and economic disparities, hindering the development and self-determination of affected communities which can cause detrimental consequences having to do with international issues. For instance, when English becomes one of the most spoken languages followed by Chinese, and Japanese in these days and ages, visitors coming from Western countries where English is their mother tongue are more welcome than others when travelling to Korea, resulting in a debatable topic in recent years. In conclusion, there are disadvantages when some languages are significantly dominant while others are on the cusp of being less spoken. It is estimated if there are no global solutions to address this negativity, human beings will face threats related to cultural conservation and inequality around the world.