Many people today used their phones to communicate by sending text messages than talking. What are the reasons for this? Does it has advantages/disadvantages?

One of the conspicuous trends of today’s modern is a colossal upsurge in sending text messages rather than communicating on phones,thanks to the ubiquity of state-of-the-art technology,globalisation and modernisation. There is a widespread worry that this would lead to a myriad of concerns and this apprehension is unwarranted as it is having numerous disadvantages despite advantages. To begin with, nowadays most people using various apps to deliver information there are certain advantages of this as one could send bulk messages simultaneously to a number of members in the family. Moreover, it will also save a lot of time. For example, research conducted by the Indian Institute of Technology, Ranchi, revealed that the trend of instant texting has increased within a decade due to innovations in technological equipment. Further, people could send various photos or videos on the online messaging app such as Whatsapp,Facebook messenger instantly. Secondly,face to face interactions has decreased with the constant advent of mobile phones.There is a deluge of arguments in favour of my stance. The most predominant one is that use of modern technology has lead to decreased social interactions. For instance, a survey conducted by Oxford University that the increased use of mobile phones has decreased social connections in the younger generation. It has changed dramatically the way society interacts with each other. Moreover, in-depth penetration of internet connectivity is a major factor attributed to this cause. To conclude,nowadays the public are using messages as a way of communication rather than talking on the phone, In my,opinion the potential benefits of this instant messaging outweighs the disadvantages.