Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Some say that the choice of clothes done by people can help to define their culture and character. This essay totally disagrees with the statement because individuals do not always wear the clothing that they want to wear and they increasingly dress according to the fashion trend. Firstly, clothes don't always serve as a reflection of an individual's culture and character because people are obliged to follow their traditions even if they do not like them. They are required to wear traditional outfits despite their preferences on many occasions, regardless of whether they like them or not. For instance, in India, it is mandatory for many school teachers to wear saree on a daily basis, making teachers feel uncomfortable. Secondly, fashion is growing in popularity due to which a significant number of people dress according to that. In contrast to the past, when they around the world were not aware of their trends, TV and the internet have exposed them to the same trends, which has resulted in similar dressing among them across the world. For example, in the past, girls wore traditional attire in India, today they wear t-shirts and jeans as all girls wear all over the world. In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement that the choice of clothes does not show the real personality and culture from which they belong. This is because sometimes it is compulsory to wear traditional attire as they need to follow the rules of an institution and increasing fashion trends are also responsible for current dressing sense among them.