A report indicated that many children between 7 and 11 years old watch television and/ or play video games too much. How does the problem affect? what measures can be taken control of?

Twenty years ago, kids would go out and play with their friends, running, jumping and developing their imagination. Nowadays, most parents won't let them go out, as a result, the kids will have fun via TV or videogames, which can make them overstimulated at a very early age, developing unhealthy habits that could affect them their whole life, nonetheless, we can change their lives for good, starting with little things, like reducing the time they spend online. Videogames can be a double-edged sword, they can improve a child's creativity, reflexes, problem-solving and even decision-making, however, if they are not controlled properly they can be more damaging than they are positive, as the hyperstimulation a video game provides can impact your sleep, your anxiety, your stress, and even your personal life. There have been studies that correlate competitive videogames with anger issues, depression and the deterioration of one's health, to illustrate, when gaming, people often arch their backs and breathe with their noses, in addition, many gamers lack physical exercise and conditioning, which will worsen their quality of life. Despite all of what has been mentioned, there are still ways of being a healthy gamer, and they´re simple habits like having at least 50 minutes of physical activity every day, correcting your posture when gaming, not spending more than 2 hours per day and sleeping at least 9 hours, due to the fact that watching too many screens make our brains really tired and need more sleep to keep being healthy. To conclude gaming is a coin with two faces, if you know how to control yourself it can be a moment of relaxation and de-stress with no actual downsides, if abused, it will become a negative habit for your mental and physical health.