Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people think that the government's budget for art is a waste, and we have more important aspects and sectors where the money should be used. I disagree with the notion because I believe that art is important for the country's development. Art takes an essential role to increase human development. Developed countries have good art curriculum in their schools and they spend a great deal of money to foster arts, which in a way, help preserve the culture of a country and inspire youngsters to become more patriotic. Some governments believe that art is important to increase intelligence in society. For example, most children in China who have won science competitions are great at other artistic skills such as playing the piano or painting. They believe by developing students' artistic skills they could train their brains to think more logically and intellectually. So, by piloting money on art, the government could accelerate people's intellectual development. Moreover, investing the government's budget on art could boost up the revenue for the country. Most foreigners are interested in seeing various world heritages, artworks and cultural variations. Many countries develop tourist places and displays arts to increase their revenue. For instance, in Indonesia, Bali has become an interesting place for tourists because of the local Balinese arts of Balinese. As a result, many tourists who come to Bali bring revenue and jobs for the Balinese. Finally, the government already has big budgets for science, housing, education, social security, entertainment, commerce, farming, treatment and other sectors. So dedicating a segment of the budget for the arts is always a good idea, and it would not interfere with the development of other sectors. To conclude, I believe investing the government's budget on art is worth it because it can improve intellection for their society and bring economic income for local residents without affecting other sectors ' national budgets.