The health benefits of physical exercise are well known. Despite this, many people do not exercise regularly. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to encourage them to exercise regularly?

The levels of sedentarism and obesity in the world have been increasing enormously in recent years. While people are conscious that exercising is good for general well-being, they still do not practice it. I will discuss what are the underlying reasons and how can we promote people to start moving more. People nowadays are always busy, either with work or social events and they normally find excuses to not keep themselves fit. For individuals who do not have the habit to exercise regularly will mean making an effort, simple examples like going to the gym, or taking twenty minutes off to go for a walk and stretch in the park seems very hard. Moreover, there is another group that does not practice any sport because they don’t like to do it by themselves, they enjoy training but find that is boring without a partner. However, there are a few things that can be done to promote healthy habits. To make humans move more, it is essential to make exercise fun. This is, create a positive relationship between training and doing an enjoyable activity at the same time. For example, inviting a friend or a relative for a jogging catch up or meet up for a Zumba class are great ideas to keep everyone fit, by doing this one’s mind will relate working out with a nice activity, therefore, it is easier to start. Furthermore, another effective initiative that can be done, is raising awareness with campaigns to improve health. Companies such as health insurers or gyms, for example,may offer free Apple Watches for subscribers who meet daily or monthly steps goals. This certainly will attract many technology lovers to warm up their training shoes. In conclusion, it is well known the benefits in mental and physical health that keeping active bring. On the one hand, the reasons to stay home and avoid working out are several, some people are lazy, others need some motivation, however, building up a mental positive relation with exercise and being stimulated by healthy campaigns with rewards can certainly help in increasing the number of people joining gyms or attending outdoor training activities. Personally, I believe that is important to practise sports and keeping fit to enjoy a long and happy life.