Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is certainly true that there are a number of varied subjects for children in schools. There is an ongoing debate whether different areas like music, art, and drama should be given equal priority similar to academic subjects in schools. I strongly agree with this opinion because this helps children to have alternative career options and also they play the role of extracurricular activities for relaxation from their regular studies. Firstly, prioritizing music, art, and drama equally with other subjects increases options for children for their future careers. This is because some of the children might face difficulties in scoring good marks in subjects like mathematics and science, which will make them lose interest in their studies. Teaching other subjects like music, arts, and drama helps them to explore their interest and excel in that specific area. A.R. Rahman, for instance, a renowned musician learnt music during his school days along with academics. Secondly, extracurricular activities act as a mode of relaxation for students. These activities help them to deviate themselves for a while once they are exhausted after learning different subjects continuously as part of their curriculum. For instance, Bill Gates, CEO of Microsoft proposed that he used to learn music during his school days, which helped him to rejuvenate and focus better in his academics. To conclude, although subjects like mathematics, and science help to establish a better future for children, I strongly believe that other areas like music, art and drama play a crucial role in making children explore alternative career options and also help them to relax outside of their hectic schedule in order to perform better in their academics.