In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children are always taught by the adults in some tradition that there is nothing cannot achieve when they are working hard enough. Children can learn about healthy competition, having perseverance and gaining independence from hard-working but there are also drawbacks to be taken into accounts. On the one hand, there are number of advantages of pushing children to achieve everything by putting in reasonable effort. Firstly, one benefit is that children can learn about having healthy competition. It teaches them about the real competitive world outside as they realise early that they need to try hard enough to gain any accomplishment. Secondly, teaching them to put in the appropriate effort is an advantage because this is their first step to learn about having perseverance. They can learn to be patient and keep the work done in order to reach the target. Thirdly, Working hard teaches them responsibility and independence. This skill can help children to become an adult who is ready to enter the society. On the other hand, one problem with forcing them to get their goal by trying hard enough leads to the gap between guardians and children because children tend to hide from them when they couldn’t succeed in their lives as parents are blaming them for not paying enough attention to the goal. Another possible issue is that children can get trauma and lost self-confidence when they are not successful as others even though they eventually are trying their best. For instance, while a slow learner studies 8hours daily, the talented student only gives 2 hours of his/her time for studying but the slow learner still cannot compete with the talented one. In that kind of situation, they can suffer depression and lost self-confidence as they cannot make well with others. In conclusion, while children can benefit from telling them that working hard can fulfil everything they desired, it can also lead to a gap between family or losing self-confidence.