Language teacher should concentrate only on giving positive feedback when students do good work rather than on criticizing their bad work. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Being a teacher is a job with major responsibilities. Many people think positive reinforcement is the best way to teach students a new language. Others believe that criticism is important to allow them to learn from their mistakes. My personal opinion lies somewhere in between. When an educator is teaching with positivity, it creates an ambience of trust. It allows them to feel as if they are able to make and correct mistakes. For example, I have been a tutor for the past decade. I teach students from the age of 5 to undergraduate level. In my experience, the tutees respond well to favourable remarks. When my students answer correctly, I rejoice with them, allowing them the feeling of enjoyment in their studies. It helps to boost their confidence and thus facilitates practice. This is particularly true when teaching languages, as speaking is a major part of understanding a new language, and many individuals feel self-conscious when speaking new dialects. On the other hand, criticising them could cause students to retreat into their shells, chipping away at their conviction. For instance, when I have been particularly strict with my teaching, critiquing their approach, this alienated them. The younger children, especially, start to lose faith in themselves. This causes their speech to suffer and thus impedes their progress. In my opinion, there should be a balance between both approaches. Criticism is just as valuable as positive feedback if it is delivered in the right way. Criticism allows students to understand where they go wrong and how to correct themselves and good feedback allows them to feel a sense of accomplishment - both of which are great for progress.