There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessments.

Education plays a pivotal role in the growth of children's. Nowadays it becomes a debatable topic, whether to evaluate youngsters knowledge on the basis of periodic exams or on a regular basis assessment. This essay intends to discuss both the pros and cons of this trend in subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, there are many benefits are associated with the trend of judging the capabilities of school goers by taking exams once a year. Firstly, pupils can get enough time to understand and learn the subject thoroughly. This not only helps to perform well in exams but also boost their morale to put more effort into scoring well. A recent survey organised by Oxford University reported that regular tests can lose the interest from a study which affect badly on learning capabilities of youngsters. Apart from this, it is a national standardised way to assess students skills and also helps to compare the results nationally that leading to get enrollment of brilliant students in the leading university like AIIMS. On the other hand, there are potential drawbacks associated with taking annual exams.Tests are prone to increase stress levels in many individuals. This nervousness affects the performance in exams as well as determinantal impact on the mental growth of youngsters. For instance, it has been observed that due to the fear of scoring lower grades in exams, the ratio of committing suicide has been increasing drastically. Moreover, some school-goers are very good at cramming the topics instead of learning the basic concepts. This leads to creating a hindrance for the overall knowledge of students. To conclude, evaluating children through final exams is a good way of assessing. Yet it's negative aspects in terms of losing the life's of youngsters who are building block of the nation cannot be overlooked. Hence, it would be the sagacious approach to consider both ways of assessment.