Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that traffic and pollution issues would be best tackled by higher prices of gas. In my opinion, this idea is completely flawed and there are other reasonable alternatives. In theory, the increase in gasoline prices might reduce the demand for fuel, which might force people to switch to cleaner energy sources, leading to environmental protection. However, fuels such as gasoline and oil play an essential part in life, which means this solution will not stop consumers from buying. To give an example, at the end of 2021, although gasoline prices increased sharply, people in the UK were still waiting in line to refuel their cars. Another reason why I disagree is that there are more promising solutions than rising fuel prices. Firstly, the government can adopt alternative measures such as limiting car travel in major cities. To be more precise, the government can introduce congestion pricing, which makes car drivers pay a toll before entering the city centres. That will help to reduce the number of vehicles in cities, leading to a reduction in exhaust levels. Secondly, the government should attempt to raise people's awareness of environmental protection. For instance, the local authorities can call for people to clean the streets where they live 1-2 times a week, which will make them more aware of environmental protection. In conclusion, I believe that heightening the price of fuel used for travelling to address traffic and pollution problems is somewhat absurd; and that some other methods should be adopted instead.