Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language still could be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although electronic translation tools have supported people immensely in numerous aspects of life, linguistic learning is still considered more beneficial in the long run. Regarding my perspective, I agree entirely with this statement for the following reasons. First and foremost, we should all understand that translation apps are merely tools for human use, whereas language acquisition is knowledge. This means that the app should only be used for minimal daily tasks that will not harm the user, such as translating the instructions for a foreign product or asking a foreigner for directions. Furthermore, technology can be faulty at times. Hence, the translation is not guaranteed to be accurate and precise, as language can be complex, which requires analysis of context with human logic. Additionally, acquiring a language other than their mother tongue will bring numerous professional work opportunities. For instance, when an individual applies for a job, their resume will likely stand out if they can speak a foreign language fluently, which is seen as a strength. Consequently, this is proven through certifications such as IELTS or HSK and will be reflected in the candidate's resume. Furthermore, a second language is implemented as a required course in primary school education in Vietnam. This shows that pupils are exposed to language learning early in their life. To conclude, I believe that language learning is knowledge, whereas translation software is merely a tool, and it should not be overused or replaced as overly relying on an app can have a detrimental effect on individuals and their brain.