The Internet has as many disadvantages as it does advantages. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is true that there are a wide number of benefits and numerous drawbacks which the Net brings. Despite some obvious disadvantages of the Network, I think that these are outweighed by the advantages. On the one hand, there are a number of major problems associated with using the Internet. The first drawback is this trend would have an adverse impact on the users’ health problems. People keeping their eyes glued to screens for several hours are likely to suffer from eye strain, short-sightedness, or obesity. Another negative effect is more time spent on online entertainment means less time for other activities, such as study, sports as well as communication, which negatively affects the low academic result and causes social isolation that seriously affects their later lives. On the other hand, I believe that the merits are more significant than such drawbacks. Firstly, the computer network helps us acquire up-to-date information to enrich our knowledge and learn a wide range of valuable skills. Children, for example, know more about animals and their natural habitats by watching discovery channels on the iPad. Also, the IELTS Class Language Center organizes webinars for learners all of ages to gain access to education and enjoy the benefits of free online courses to improve their English. Secondly, the Internet sparks children’s creativity and imagination. A child, for instance, can know how to conduct simple experiments by viewing educational programmes like Best of Science or VTV2. Finally, we have more opportunities to make friends from all over the world by using social networking sites such as Facebook, Zalo or Twitter. In conclusion, I would argue that the Internet brings more benefits than negative points.