Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sugary drinks and foods are extremely unhealthy and are consumed in large quantities globally. In some countries, there has been a recent introduction of special taxes on these items. Some people believe that this is a good idea, while others do not agree. Both sides of the story shall be discussed in this essay. Taxation of sugary beverages and food items can cause a decrease in their levels of consumption. This,in turn, can indirectly force people to lead healthier lives. For instance, one bottle of coca-cola is said to contain about 9 teaspoons of sugar. The daily recommended amount of sugar to be consumed is about 3 teaspoons. If there are laws that make such drinks inaccessible to the public, they will be healthier eventually. Having said that, forcing people to do what the government wants them to do, is never the right strategy. In a democratic country, people must feel like they have the freedom to make their choices. Moreover, not everyone has major health problems that require them to cut down on sugar completely. Depriving small children of the joy of eating sweets, for instance, seems like a cruel notion. Even doctors recommend that the consumption of sugar in small quantities is perfectly fine. Furthermore, even though a product may be banned or excessively taxed, people will always find ways to acquire it illegally. In addition to this, these laws may create a class divide, where the rich are the only ones who can afford these goods. In conclusion, even though placing high taxes on sugary drinks and foods may cause people to lead healthier lifestyles, I am of the opinion that it is not a step in the right direction. People must be allowed to choose what they want to consume, irrespective of whether it is healthy or not.