In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. Do the advantages of giving children this message outweigh the disadvantages?

In certain societies, children are often taught that anything is possible if they just put their mind to it. While this advice could set children up for disappointment, I believe in general it is a good mindset to instill in young ones. On the one hand, saying that children can attain what they want as long as they put in the effort is just not true; there are many situations where no matter how hard one tries, some things are just beyond their reach because of a lack of skills, opportunity or simply luck. For example, it is not uncommon for hard-working students to fail to get into the college that they want, or for diligent atheletes to suffer defeat when facing a formidable opponent. Not everyone is able to process these setbacks well, and many will inevitably blame themselves, perhaps to a degree that is unhealthy. On the other hand, to have faith that hard work will be rewarded is usually a positive mentality to adopt. Even when met with failures, the process of trying to push one's boundaries brings tremendous personal growth and, more importantly, leaves children with no regrets later on. This kind of drive is particularly necessary for individuals who tend to give up easily and do not have a lot of patience. In addition, having the will to perform to the best of one's abilities helps build character and a sense of responsibility, because children will learn to take ownership of their decisions. These are essential attributes of a dependable leader in the future, both in an organization and in a family. In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that while it is not a good idea to give children false hopes, generally the mindset that anything is attainable if they try hard enough does them more good than harm.