At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Some countries have a higher population of young adults in comparison to older people. Not only this essay will discuss the merits as well as the demerits of having a large number of young adults but it will also answer why I think that the advantages of this scenario are more than the disadvantages. The first drawback of having a more young population is high pressure on the economy to create more employment as the number of people willing to be employed is astronomically high. Which can really make the lives of administrators miserable. Additionally, the large contingent of the young population may also mean a high dependency on the police to maintain law and order, because the younger population can be highly volatile at times. For example, the eastern states of India have a higher crime rate that can be partially attributed to the large population of young adults. I opine that, however, there are more benefits of having more young adults. It results in a higher number of people available to do a job that can really lead to healthy competition among job-seekers, which in turn can substantially reduce the cost of production for industries. For instance, developing economies such as India are reaping the rewards of having a higher number of young adults since the developed nations are outsourcing tasks to cut production overheads. Also, the younger population can contribute to the development of a nation for longer by paying their taxes, but the older people put a burden on the economy as they have a higher dependency on the social welfare schemes. To conclude, having more young people require nations to create more jobs and to take extra measures to keep the crime rate low. On the other hand, a high younger population helps in industrialization and also results in getting higher income for a country. Hence, we see that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.