Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there has been a debate that whether the government should take initiation for extending roads or railway lines. I completely agree that the rulers should spend money on constructing new railway lines. To begin with, the common population depend on the train rather than public transportation because of many reasons. Firstly, train tickets are cheaper than bus tickets. Therefore, middle-class people use trains for their daily commute. Moreover, trains can accommodate more people than buses. So, this is more beneficial in overpopulated countries like India and China. In addition, people feel safer and comfortable travelling by train. Apart from this, train journey helps people develop new friendships and also people can enjoy their journey by seeing good nature views. To summarize, because of the above-mentioned reasons the people like to travel by train. Therefore, extending railway lines will be more beneficial to the public than roads. Secondly, increasing railway lines may decrease traffic issues. Moreover, it can also reduce air pollution and may even reduce fuel prices too. Therefore, road traffic accidents will decline and global warming also may reduce. A study conducted by Punjab University proved that the major cause of death in India is road accidents. On the contrary, widening roads may affect street vendors and may increase the number of private vehicle usages. For example, in some developed countries, the people will use their own vehicles although, they have good train facilities because of better roads. Finally, if the government will spend money on roads means it can cause more demerits than merits. So, it is better to invest money in railways for the betterment of the public. However, I completely agree that spending money on railways is more beneficial than spending on road transports.