Some educationalists think that international exchange visits benefits teenagers at the school. To what extent do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Education is important for every child as it will help provide the basic skills they need to fend for themselves in the world. However, some schools have an international exchange visit to educate their students about different cultures and also to instil in them a value of tolerance towards other cultures. In this essay, we shall discuss some of the advantages and disadvantages of this. On one hand, as mentioned earlier the students get to learn and experience a different culture and meet various people. They also get introduced to the language of that particular country and that may give them the interest to try and learn the language. In addition to this, there is the added advantage of education diversity. Alternately, travelling alone to another country, all be it with fellow students for a long duration, can result in loneliness for some students, which would thereby manifest itself by dropping grades. Studying in an international location can bring up unwanted expenses which not all families can afford. Lastly, many students may not like the sudden change in culture and language and may find it hard to adapt to a new place. Furthermore, teenagers are at an age where they want to try and experience anything and everything new, which is a good thing. However, in doing so, it can sometimes have devastating consequences, so they need to be constantly monitored, which is difficult for parents to do if their children are on an international exchange visit. In conclusion, I feel the advantages of an international exchange visit outweigh the disadvantages, because if we can get teenagers to think from a global perspective, then they will tend to show more responsibility and maturity when dealing in situations.