In many countries, people are working increasingly longer hours. What are the reasons for this. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, Numerous individuals are inclined to work extended hours to an increasing extent. I firmly agree with the stated notion because people are willing to do the work due to economic and cultural impact on their lives and undoubtedly it has detrimental consequences on health. To begin with, multitudinous people are likely to do long working hours because of low socio-economic status and to fulfil their basic needs and desires. Inflation also plays a big role in pushing people to work in a dynamic environment with longer hours which often makes them more tolerant, self-reliant and resilient. In addition, increments in wages, promotions of positions, rewards and pressure from seniors often resulted in working lengthy shifts. For instance, research conducted in Australian colleges reported that immigrants are relatively working overtime to clear the educational debt that they have in their country thus, students would be compelled to work extra hours. Moreover, the culture of working extra hours has largely impacted worker's lives and their health. Working extended hours for a longer period of time can cause illnesses like burnout syndrome, depression, and ischemic heart disease. Due to high demand and low supply several private hospitals demand healthcare providers who can work long hours shifts, which undoubtedly can cause physical, mental and emotional exhaustion. Besides, another example, according to WHO, participants who tend to work long hours are more likely to suffer from diseases such as myocardial infarction, stroke, depression and early death hence, working long hours indeed leads to life-threatening conditions. To conclude, after the aforementioned reasons, there is no doubt that working for an extended period of time can have a detrimental effect on health. However, most people tend to work long hours for multifarious reasons to overcome their financial situations.