Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Many people concerns that being a non-native speaker in an exotic country can lead to extreme difficulties, not only to the foreigner himself or herself but also to the host nation. From my perspective, I firmly agree with that statement. On the individual level, it is no doubt that the inability to comprehend the local language can directly hinder one's living quality. The communication gap can easily turn into misunderstanding, confusion and distress for the foreigners. The stress from miscommunication is constantly appeared in the second -language speakers' minds, making them more susceptible to mental imbalance and nervous breakdown. For example, the inability to comprehend and express thoughts in local languages becomes detrimental in cases the foreign ones seeking emotional and mental help from an unfamiliar context. For the local society, the appearance of non-native residents can cause extra discomfort and irritation among local speakers. With the tightened work markets in some countries, the locals may consider immigrates as fierce competitors for some job positions. This point of view appears most prominent in the lower-income class, where their jobs do not demand highly exquisite language usage. Because of that, many foreigners who have insufficient vocabulary accumulation are also qualified for those jobs. In another scenario, in a team consisting of people that can not communicate properly with each other, it is difficult to work efficiently and harmoniously. When productivity decreased, it can affect the income and efficiency of the whole company, which to some extent limit the acronical growth of the local In short, I believe that there are occurring and challenging issues for both non-native speakers and the local community they currently reside.