Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniably true that higher secondary education is the building block of life. Some people believe that art studies is as important as other subjects while I would argue that these are of unimportant in a child's future. In this essay, I will support the latter view with explanations and examples. Firstly, art studies in completely based on talent and its scope is limited. This is because, these subjects require a lot of inbuilt talent and only limited number of individuals achieve great success in these fields. As a result, children waste a lot of time in trying to achieve accomplishment however they fail drastically in doing so and also, are unable to choose any other field because of the prolonged time lapse. This creates a lot of mental trauma in the minds of many learners and gives a life long depression in some cases. For example, there have been many people who attempted to become a superstar in the movie industry for a long time but they could not accomplish much success and also are left with very minimal choices in their career. Secondly, school curicullum like maths, science and language helps children to choose from various life careers. The reason behind this is that these subjects are universally accepted and allows an individual to easily switch jobs at anytime during their life. Consequently, one can be carefree with regards to financial difficulties in life as well as job security in the long run. Furthermore, one can spend good time with family and can live peaceful and less exhausting life. For instance, it is seen that a person who studied finance in the primary education has been able to work in different professions in the same industry, irrespective of having a degree in finance only. In conclusion, I fail to agree that art subjects are as important as other school curriculum. There may be few extraordinary examples which may encourage art studies however they are very few in number and do not apply to the bigger population. Important subjects such as arithmetic and mathematics will always be uncomparably vital in one's career.