It is a widely accepted fact that children nowadays are very tech savvy. They are very adept in using electronic gadgets like laptops, smartphones, tablets and personal computers. This essay will thoroughly examine the positive and negative aspects of widespread adoption by children.

It is a widely accepted fact that children nowadays are very tech savvy. They are very adept in using electronic gadgets like laptops, smartphones, tablets and personal computers. This essay will thoroughly examine the positive and negative aspects of widespread adoption by children. Firstly, it can be argued that electronic devices make life infinitely easier. For example, researching topics in the olden days used to be a difficult task as library books had to be accessed, and research papers/journals had to be physically tracked down. Additionally, even after getting access to the above material, any doubts have to be cleared by teaching faculty. In stark contrast with the widespread adoption of the internet, information is available simply at the press of a button. This makes researching as well as the learning aspect much easier for the younger generation. Conversely, overdependence on these devices can have many adverse effects. Children nowadays would rather spend time on their iPads or mobile phones playing games, and browsing social media than interact with the outside world. This can have many undesired negative effects. An effective example of this phenomenon is the increase in childhood obesity rates due to reduced physical activity. Furthermore, a strong argument can be made that excessive usage of electronics from an early age has led to an increase in mental diseases like Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. A potential solution to this problem is parents teaching their children moderation when using these gadgets. They should advocate physical activity like exercise or sports after one or two hours of continuous device usage. This approach reduces the chances of developing childhood diseases mentioned above. In summary, while widespread adoption of electronic devices by young children can be beneficial when it comes to being able to study more effectively, overuse may lead to reduced physical or mental health. A mid-ground approach should be advocated by parents so that potential benefits outweigh the negative aspects.