International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

In the global integration period, tourism plays a vital role in the economic development of countries. The prices of international travel are cheaper so that more and more tourists have opportunities to visit beautiful sightseeings. In my opinion, this situation brings both positive and negative effects and my reasons will be explained in the next paragraphs. On the one hand, the increase in the number of tourists has several advantages to a country. Firstly, tourism leads to increased income as well as the quality of life of the citizens there. More people coming to visit means there are more job opportunities for the inhabitants because of the increasing demand for services such as entertainment, food and accommodations. Therefore, the residents have more money to afford more quality lives. Secondly, the national economic development is caused by the investment of international companies in the local areas. Especially the developing countries which are positively welcoming investors, so that, for example, the investments of infrastructures such as hospitals, schools, roads increase. This also means that the living standards of people rise. On the other hand, the enormous number of tourists is the reason for the environmental problems of many countries. Many landmarks and historical relics are gradually losing their value and beauty because of the ignorance of visitors, residents and local authorities. Society's awareness, as well as the management of authorities, are not good enough to keep their scenes surviving over time until those issues really alarm. In addition, some places do not have strict discipline on littering and the waste treatment problem is very complex to handle. For example, Sam Son beach, a famous Vietnamese tourist destination. In the beginning, this place was famous for the blue water and smooth yellow sand. But now, it is known as one of the dirtiest beaches in Vietnam which are faced with criticism from environmental protection organizations. In conclusion, although the advantages of international tourism to countries can not be denied, problems brought to the environment by opening their doors to tourists are also serious. Anyway, the government should balance economic development and environmental protection.