Nowadays, it is not only large companies that are able to make films as digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recent digital technology allows not only professional filmmakers, but also amateurs in the field to produce films with less effort. In my point of view, this is a beneficial progression for the film industry. In the following paragraphs, the reasons why I take this standpoint will be stated in detail. To begin with, with the advancement of personal electronic devices, such as smartphones and computers, the process of making films is now plausible and reasonably simple. This transformation enables film -making to become a hobby for many people and also allows low budget filmmakers to do their jobs without struggling with financial aids. As more people started to be involved, more films are being created which is beneficial as this allows more creative ideas to be shown to the public. The lack of diversity has always been a problem in the film industry as huge companies tend to stick with their original style of film and new ideas are not excepted as they might destroy the companies ' identity and uniqueness. Unlike these film companies, individuals are more flexible with their style and detail preferences which allows them to produce new and fresh ideas. Thanks to modern technology, more individuals are making their own films and publish them through social media platforms without having to spend too much money on getting their works to stream on the mainstream. In addition, allowing more people to access the tools to make film contributes a deeper understanding of certain topics. For example, when a social problem arises in a society, in the present, people can express their thoughts and provide information to others using social media platforms that are accessible for most people. Documentaries can be created by not only the professionals in making films but also those who are well familiar with the topic which will increase the quality of the content and provide better context for the viewers. To summarize, not limiting film -making to only large companies is very beneficial as the more people involved, the more ideas are created. The industry should embrace the diversity and creativity of the people.