Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that physical power is more crucial than mental power in sports. While this perspective is valuable, I believe that both are essential for successful athletes. On the one hand, it is undeniable that a person’s physical characteristics play a major role in their performance in sport. In dynamic sports such as football and basketball, the ability to sprint at lightning speed and demonstrate incredible strength is essential for success. Without a strong physical body, and a high level of coordination, people would not be able to perform efficiently. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo has a powerful physique and strength, which have contributed to his worldwide success and popularity. On the other hand, high levels of strength and fitness are not the only factor that allows athletes to perform well. To be able to consistently perform at a very high level, athletes also need to be mentally strong. Professional athletes in particular need to have the determination and focus to be able to continually train and perform for many years, despite the many setbacks that they may face. The mental focus and concentration whilst under pressure during a competition is also extremely important. For example, chess is a sport that requires the use of intelligence to make moves, checkmate, and win against the opponent. In conclusion, although physical strength and ability are highly important in sports performance, mental strength and focus also play an important role, especially when it comes to elite athletes, well-known and high levels of performance and competition.