Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime.others, however,argue that the circumstances of an individual crime,and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different arguments with regard to having a fixed for flexible punishments for offenders. I agree with those who think the situation of a criminal should be taken into account to impose a right verdict. In the first place, there are some who claim to haved a fixed punishment to deter from breaking the law. They think that if there were strict penalties for breaklawers, no one would dare to commit a crime and this way we would have a safer society. For example, kidnapping is not right in any condition.For this kind of crime, there should be an unchangeable verdict to stop these offenders. Additionally, they think that even for minor crimes such as high-speed driving, there should be a great fine. In this way, individuals would obey the driving laws much more, if they had to pay a great amount of fines. On the other hand, I believe that there are some situations in which people have to commit a crime although it is not legal. If a person children have a serious disorder such as cancer which requires a high amount of money to spend on its treatment, this person will be forced to find a way to pay the costs of it. So, it would be possible that those who suffer from the same situation become thieves or burglars.If instead of helping them and prepare them job opportunities sentence to jail, they will become even worse when they become free again. Also, for a minor crimes there should not be a jail sentence as if minor offenders have an experience of encountering other criminals, they will be influenced negatively by them. Instead of this, governments should consider some rehabilitation courses for them to inform them about the disadvantages of crimes. There are indeed some crimes that are done for self-defence or unintentional. There are several incidences of raping when victims might kill the rapers. In this time, everyone might do the same and instead of,punishments these vulnerable individuals should receive some emotional support from either society and government. In conclusion, although there are some who think that there must be unchangeable penalties for each type of crime, I think that the condition and desire of offenders should be considered first before imposing a sentence for them.