In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

It has been observed that in numerous educational institutions, females are inclined to study art, whereas males tend to attend science subjects. I firmly believe that while this tendency is mainly caused by natural mental disparities and social expectations, it should be changed because it hinders students from their true potential. One key driver of this phenomenon is the differences in the natural mindset of each gender. To clarify, it is important to acknowledge that girls are not as physically fit as boys, so they find it disadvantageous to participate in such massive works which are related to science. Moreover, males are found to have more logical and mechanical thinking according to some research, this is superior in science subjects. As a result, it has formed an unchanged mentality in both genders that scientific work is more suitable for males since they were in school. Another factor which plays an important role is social bias. In other words, this was a long time ago, when humanity expected women to take on minor businesses - such as artists, music or literature - while men should take on major works which are mainly intellectual, rather than creative. This perception can be found in many ancient civilizations and cultures across the world, for example, Confucious religion overlooks the contributions of women to social development. Consequently, an unconsiderable portion of students accept to choose what they want to learn but what societies expect them to do. This trend should be eliminated due to the barrier which it creates to prevent students complete themselves. That is to say, each gender has its own duty in particular subjects is such a malicious view that it discourages students from accessing a broader opportunities pool in order to explore their authentic potential and talents. If the ratio between the number of each gender enrols in both subjects achieves balance and harmony, there must be more students who are able to perform their skills and qualities. This may result in better societies where human civilisation becomes advanced in economy, medication and technology thanks to the fact that there is no individual waste their gifted abilities. In conclusion, this trend is not only caused by natural distinctions in mentality but also social expectations, and it should be changed in order to enlarge the range of opportunities for individuals to achieve, so that they can utilize all of their abilities to contribute to the social well-being.