In many large cities, people have to spend hours driving in heavy traffic every day. What are the effects of this on society and the individual? What can be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to the advancement of technology heavy traffic is a significant problem in large cities which affects both society and individuals in various ways. Below, I will discuss the effects of heavy traffic and propose potential solutions to mitigate these problems. To begin with, daily travelling in traffic affects physically as prolonged exposure to huge amounts of lorries can lead to respiratory problems. For example, studies have shown that people living in high- traffic areas have higher rates of asthma and other lung conditions. Obviously, it affects mental health as road congestion increases the level of stress which causes anxiety and depression. The constant noises and congestion produced by cars can further contribute to a poor quality of life. Furthermore, it has an economic impact, the time spent in road rush can be used for productive activities. Clearly, it can lead to a decrease in overall economic productivity. For instance, a report by the Texas A&M Transportation Institute estimated that road congestion costs the U.S. economy billions of dollars annually in lost productivity. Also, traffic increases air and noise pollution caused by the emission of harmful gases into the environment. On the other hand, encouraging the usage of public transportation can reduce the heavy rush on roads. Thus, the government should invest in infrastructure which expands and improves transit, making it more accessible and efficient. For instance, most of the developed countries like Canada have extensive and reliable public transit services to reduce the need for private cars. However, companies can provide incentives such as reduced fares for buses which encourages the usage of public vehicles. For example, in Canada several companies and universities provide discounted bus passes. Nevertheless, carpooling and the use of shared ride services can lessen the number of vehicles on the road. To conclude, heavy traffic in large cities has far-reaching effects on health, the economy, and the environment. Overall, addressing this issue requires a multifaceted approach that includes improving public transportation, promoting alternative modes of travelling, and implementing effective traffic control strategies. By taking these steps, cities can enhance the quality of life for their residents and create a more sustainable urban environment.