Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, while some international languages are more and more popular all over the world, some others being spoken by fewer people are on the verge of extinction. People have different views about whether governments’ funding used for saving these languages is necessary or a waste of money. In my opinion, I strongly support that those languages should be protected and my reason will be explained in the next paragraph. On the one hand, some people believe that it is unnecessary to waste a huge amount of money to save languages that are not used. Instead of investment for researching, education as well as public campaigns to increase people's awareness, this money should be spent on other important sectors such as improving education infrastructures or healthcare service facilities, equipment, and human resources. In addition, people are interested in international languages such as English, Chinese because of globalization. For instance, many multinational companies’ requirements prioritize people who can speak English fluently. Taking time to learn another language makes people have fewer chances to learn those endangered languages. On the other hand, saving languages that are in danger of extinction is also saving the cultures which are on the verge of extinction. Each language represents a culture, if a language disappears, that culture will gradually fade over time. For archaeologists, languages are used to translate, exploit ancient documents and relics. For example, the ancient Egyptian language has disappeared, which makes researchers find many difficulties in the process of studying pyramids and remaining monuments. Additionally, by spending money on preserving languages that are less widely spoken, governments can also protect traditions, customs and lifestyles that are part of cultural heritage. In conclusion, saving endangered languages might be a controversial topic. In my personal opinion, it is necessary that the government should fund this issue to protect the diversity of cultures.