In some countries, teenagers have part-time jobs while they are still at school. What benefits does this bring for the teenager? Are there any drawbacks?

Although working a few hours a day while studying has some benefits for the young ones, it can also cause serious issues. This essay will demonstrate how students develop the knowledge and skills required for their future employment but will also show that this can lead to such problems as a lack of focus on studies. Whilst acknowledging that there are positives, the essay will argue that the disadvantages of such jobs outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, part-time jobs allow students to develop their cognitive ability as well as improve their skills in various areas such as money management, time management, and prioritizing tasks which makes them more self-sufficient and mature. This is important to cope with the stresses of adult life when they actually get opportunities to perform in a real work environment. Moreover, they gain immense knowledge from real-life experiences when they meet many people in the workplace and community which helps them to understand the reality of life. For instance, in Western countries, students are encouraged to work limited hours a week to get along with the community to boost their social skills. On the other hand, such exposure makes students lose their interest in education. That is to say that when they are accustomed to work culture they might have a lower value for studies as money is the ultimate goal for leading a sophisticated life. Furthermore, it might cause disciplinary issues in an educational setting as they might intend to spoil the other kids who are regularly attending schools and motivate them to skip classes to earn more money. For instance, a recent study found that in many developed countries, teenagers are skipping classes in order to work in reputed franchises. As a result, the dropout percentage has increased significantly which has influenced the government to set minimal age requirements for employment. In conclusion, although doing part-time jobs while studying has greater benefits, it is influencing them to lose their focus on school education because of having lower educational values and creating behavioural issues. Hence, the drawbacks of such practice definitely outweigh the positives.