Some people believe that the higher a product is priced, the more likely it is that people will want to buy it. To what extent does price influence potential buyers? What other factors influence people to buy a product?

It is a known fact that many people believe the costlier a product, the more trustworthy it will be, and thereby pique their interest to purchase the product. However, in this age of globalisation, and the advancement of technology this is no longer the case. In the course of this essay, we shall dig a little deeper into what influences price and what influences people to purchase products. First, let us take a look at how price affects potential buyers. Well, first of all, we naturally assume that if a product is costlier, it means that it is made of a superior product quality which enhances our desire. Secondly, status is something that many people desire, so, rather than purchase a cheaper local brand, many people will go for the expensive international name, because of the image, having such a possession brings. For example, I have an old colleague who bought an INR. 35000/- phone, which had just come out. The only difference between his new phone and his old one was that the camera for the new phone was much sharper than his old one. Now let us look at the various factors that influence a person to purchase a product. Some of them are due to brand advertising, as it creates a desire and inquisitiveness in the potential customer. As mentioned earlier, there is the social factor, as individuals always need to fit in society. Cultural factors, also play a role, be it a small one. Lastly, personal requirements also play a role, but the role it plays varies from person to person. In conclusion, both price and social status are two of the major influencers for a person to purchase products, however now due to globalisation there are more options available in the market, moreover, expensive does not equate to quality.