Many famous sports players advertise products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development .

These days, multiple companies choose to have a well-known face for promoting their brands such as sports players. Although that I think it can maintain some obvious positive consequences, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of this trend can outweigh its advantages. On the one hand, companies that have a star for advertising their products can build more credibility among individuals. For the reason that those famous persons are already well-trusted by their fans and then the merchandise will be part of the image of famous persons and gain more credibility compared to other brands from competitors. In addition, this way of marketing can make improve ad recall of the brands because it is connected to their favourite celebrity and then they will remember more the merchandise. That is why this trend will be beneficial to companies and it helps them to gain their profits from this way. On the other hand, there are powerful reasons that why people argue that advertising commodities by celebrities may have some adverse effects. The strongest reason is that this way of marketing is extremely expensive and therefore the price of products may hold the cost of ads and be more costly for consumers. For example, sports shoes that are promoted by famous sportsperson remain not affordable for the majority of consumers. Moreover, celebrities may become overexposed because there are famous persons who want only to make a profit and gain more money and then they will advertise several commodities despite their terrible qualities at the same time which make their fans confused about its qualities. Thus, this development may have many adverse effects on individuals. In conclusion, despite that promoting articles by stars such as footballers or swimmers can have some obvious merits to the company, I believe that the drawbacks that bring about can exceed its benefits because it engenders more costs for consumers and sometimes celebrities will advertise articles with non-good quality.