Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The loss of certain species of plants and animals by some people is considered the main environmental problem of mankind, while others claim that there are much more serious issues in our life. I cannot disagree that this is a major problem, but in my opinion, more significant problems should be prioritized. On the one hand, plants and animals are the main part of the food chain, therefore, the loss of biodiversity will lead to severe consequences, such as starvation of people and mass death of living organisms. Humans rely on these main components of nature for food, medicine, building materials and their availability as products. Unfortunately, it threatens global food security and the development of new drugs to avoid diseases. Even if ecosystems can recover, in case of complete loss of populations, as a result of which the risk of extinction of certain species increases, ecological sustainability will be disrupted, and it will cease to be what it used to be. On the other hand, it should be noted that global warming, caused by human actions, is the reason for other ecological problems and affects the entire existence of our planet. Floods, melting glaciers, forest fires, droughts are consequences of global warming, which can also lead to the death of certain species. For example, a forest fire in Australia has forced many animals, such as koalas, to change their habitat, which could result in a decline or extinction of the species. To sum up, nothing will be solved if you work on only one problem since all environmental problems are interconnected. Therefore, it is worth paying attention to all the problems of humanity and trying to find a solution to them by the governments and individuals.