Test and examinations are a central feature of school system in many countries. Do you think educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

The field of education has long struggled with coming up with a way to measure the aptitude of students and how much knowledge have they gained. Tests and written exams became the global standard to do so. I believe that examinations do more good than harm as they are a great way of measuring knowledge, especially if those exams are well-structured. First, testing is as old as education itself. For example, the Imperial Court of Ancient China used examinations to assess potential court officials, and written tests were known to Europeans as far back as the 16th century. This long history shows that a large proportion of educators believe in exams as a powerful way of measuring student knowledge. Further, companies have adapted examinations for use in screening their potential employees. However, many students complain that exams are a major source of stress because they have to sit through a lot of thorough exams over a short amount of time towards the end of the school semester. In addition to this, rigidly structured or formulaic exams can fail to properly judge some students ' skills, especially if the subject matter is open to interpretation such as language or music. In conclusion, exams remain a key fixture of the educational process despite their flaws. In my view, I think that testing remains very useful as an educational tool, although more thought should be given to making sure that tests are thoughtfully structured to best judge students ' learned knowledge.