New coverage about violent crime frightens people and encourages criminals. Therefore, some people believe this type of news should not be reported in newspapers or shown on TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays, news increasingly contains horrible crimes that might negatively affect citizens as well as encourage offenders to commit crimes. While I understand the concerns of those who argue against broadcasting such news, I believe that reporting such offensive stories has far more benefits. There are two main reasons why it is considered that TV, Radio, and newspapers report news about barbaric crimes that might have negative effects. Crime news can easily scare people due to its vivid and shocking nature, leading to an increase in the level of stress and reducing the sense of safety in society. Furthermore, they may create first-time offenders, and also teach petty criminals new ways of offending. The expense of such news, which is paid by taxpayers, could inadvertently serve as a tutorial for criminals and lead them to refine their criminal skills and become professionals in criminology. Therefore, telling such stories could make people hesitate about the intention of crime-related media, raising the question of whether media are using it to attract new audiences or improve the standard of residents' lives by enhancing society's safety. However, spreading a vicious crime story among people could be more beneficial. Considering the punishments criminals would undergo, these stories could deter petty criminals. For example, reading about a group of people involved in an armed robbery who were subsequently caught can act as a deterrent. Similarly, the reports on the punishment of those accused of sexual harassment may discourage others from committing more heinous crimes such as brutal murder and savage rape. What's more, it can raise the awareness of individuals, teaching them how to resist dangerous situations and also how to behave when facing criminals. In conclusion, although reporting horrible crimes can have negative effects, in my opinion, its merits compensate for the drawbacks.