In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the past decades, there has been an increase in overall life expectancy and the average age in Britain. This has led to a higher demand for nursing homes as the population aged further. Families and relatives of the elderly sometimes rely on government funding to support the care their parents or grandparents receive. In my view, the government has to support nursing homes as they have become critical institutions to care for people in their twilight years. First, the need for nursing houses has risen sharply not only due to people living longer but, it is also fuelled by a general decline of women staying home as homemakers as female participation in the labour force increased. As a result, elderly parents who might need constant care because of illness often find no one from their families to care for them. Therefore, people generally feel safer having their elderly loved ones in a home where they are cared for by professional nurses. However, good care homes are expensive to run and as a consequence, accommodation costs have risen in the past years. Not all families are able to afford such care, and the government has stepped in to assist through several means, such as assistance programmes and subsidies targeting nursing homes in poorer areas. While some, particularly conservatives, argue that the cost of those programmes is too high, others claim that this cost can be covered through the usual fundraising methods, for example, tax increases and deductions. To summarise, nursing homes will only become more commonplace in the future as Britons on average work more and live longer, and the government will have an obligation to fund nursing homes so that all the elderly receive proper care to ensure dignity in their old age.