some people think that government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsible of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides give your opinion.

Crime is on the rise in many countries, and many citizen's feel that the governments should be held responsible for its prevention, whilst others feel that individuals are responsible for themselves. In this essay, we shall discuss points of view. On one hand, governments are responsible for the safety of their citizens. Each year they invest heavily in this sector because if it is not taken seriously, their natives will choose to live elsewhere, thereby damaging the economy of the country. Secondly, with the amount of advanced technology at their disposal, they will have easy access to every nook and corner of the city, especially with the introduction of CCTV cameras in major cities. This coupled with the constant policing of the streets, helps to keep a sense of calm among people. Secondly, citizens should also be responsible not only for themselves but for each other. Although taxpayers are independent of each other, the fact that we are all citizens of the same city should have some meaning. For example, in Philadelphia, a woman was raped whilst riding a local subway, with many people watching and recording the act on their phones. In such an event, if the police are not present in the vicinity of the crime, it is our moral responsibility as human beings to look out for one another. In conclusion, whilst the administration has to assume primary responsibility for its individuals, we as a society also have a responsibility towards each other, to ensure our safety.