In the future, people may have to live on other planets. Some think that it is, therefore, important to spend money researching other planets, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that space exploration could be the only way to escape human extinction in case living conditions become unsustainable here on Earth. To my mind, it is crucial to invest in space research because beyond providing survival beyond Earth, it comes with knowledge generation, technological advancements, and a significant number of employment opportunities. When facing unforeseen catastrophes- natural disasters, pandemics, massive eruptions, there should always be a plan B for humanity like establishing colonies on other celestial bodies, most probably on Mars, in which space exploration can be a lifeline. Discovering new habitable extraterrestrial environments not only does it expand our understanding of life but also offers a potential refuge for humanity. Even though definitive proof that livable zones exist has not yet been found, telltale signs of life such as water vapor, dimethyl sulfide, and carbon dioxide in exoplanet atmospheres are gradually being uncovered, meaning there is always hope. Space missions are also gateways for yielding profound scientific knowledge, from understanding planetary geology to unraveling the mysteries of distant galaxies, expanding our understanding of the universe. Moreover, the technologies developed for space operations, including satellite communication, weather forecasting, and medical imaging are being put into practical applications day-by-day. Space exploration is not only pushing the boundaries of human knowledge but also creating diverse jobs across disciplines- engineering, astrophysics, and planetary science, therefore supporting livelihoods of many. According to Apollo Mission data, over 400,000 people from various expertise were employed for one space operation. In conclusion, while ongoing space missions are yielding significant scientific insights and practical technological applications, the discovery of habitable environments could one day provide shelter for humanity. Therefore, it is essential to invest in space exploration to sustain life for generations to come.