The death penalty is best way to control and reduce serious crime. To what extent do you agree?

Capital punishment is adopted by America and many other countries in the East as they feel it is the best way to curtail crime. However, I partially agree with this notion, and I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. The death penalty is usually awarded for the most heinous of crimes committed, however, I feel it is more of an easy release. The reason I feel this is because when the perpetrator is committing the act, they are not allowing the victim any relief, instead they are amounting maximum violence on them before releasing them. Therefore, I feel in such circumstances, consecutive life sentences are best applicable This is because they do not allow the person to escape and they will be locked away with only their thoughts for company, which I feel is more painful than instant death. For example, Peter Scully is one of Australia's worst paedophiles who was caught in the Philippines, for the trafficking and rapes of young girls which led to one child's death. He was given life in jail in the Philippines with no chance of parole or even extradition to Australia. On the other hand, many countries such as Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan, and even Thailand are part of 54 nations that impose the death penalty for drug smuggling. I feel, in this case, that capital punishment is apt because it will hopefully deter others from following this same path. In conclusion, whilst I feel capital punishment is required, I believe the decision of punishment must fit the crime. Therefore, it is the ministry’s responsibility to decide what will be the best punishment. All in all, I feel that both capital and consecutive life sentences act as effective punishments when trying to deter criminals.