Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to gentically modified crops to increase the productions of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

Nowadays, different techniques are used in order to increase food production. One of which is, genetically modified crops. Some believe that this method of producing eatables can curb the shortage of food while others link this to several other associated risks. On one hand, genetically altered crops can suffice the need of the ever-growing population in countries facing a shortage of meals. Moreover, they grow efficiently, this means that farmers can produce the same amount of eatables using less land, less water, and fewer pesticides than conventional yield. For example, the hybrid version of an orange plant is having five times more fruit produced, as well as it can be grown in cold regions also which is not possible with the normal plant Many such yields have been altered to be less vulnerable to insects and other pests. This means that farmers don't need to use as much pesticide on produce. On the other hand, such a method of producing consumables can lead to the void of essential nutrition from one’s diet. This may also cause health issues in the later stage. In addition, there is also the fear that new allergies could happen because of the mixing of genes from two organisms. As genetic engineering tends to focus more on increasing their vegetation, prolonging their lifespan, and deterring pests, the nutritional value of some crops is sometimes compromised. For example, nowadays, vegetables are always kept in the frieze to preserve whereas naturally grown foods can be kept outside for many days. In conclusion, genetically modified vegetation has brought many positive developments in the production of food into our lives that far outweigh the drawbacks. Although health and environmental threats are alarming, we cannot deny how much bioengineering has helped us to curb the shortage of consumables and improve trading capital with people all over the world. We should encourage further development of agricultural products, as well as the introduction of new techniques and safety measures that will minimize these threats.