With all the troubles in the world today, money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. The money could be better spent on other things.

Nations after nations, every day, every year, celebrate their achievements in space exploration. However, it is now time to question how meaningful these blasts are. This essay aims to explain why it is questionable. First, until all urgent and important matters in this globe have been solved, money bumped on space exploration is of no meaning. It is not common sense at all to invest millions of dollars researching and producing foods for astronauts (for space exploration purposes), while thousands of people are starving. Furthermore, the discovery of outer space only serves a minor group of people if the majority are even not well-educated. Those in rural areas or third-world nations do not even know how to prevent common threatening diseases like AIDS and lung cancer. Then, some may argue that the purpose of space exploration is to discover new lands, and new energy resources or to deter potential threats to the globe. Nevertheless, is it effective to do so while other alternatives are available? Lands on earth are not yet effectively used. New energy resources (eg. solar and nuclear energy) have not yet been widely used. Threats of plagues have not yet been deterred. All these?not-yets? need money. That is why costly space discovery programs are a waste of money. In a nutshell, people should only invest in space exploration providing that() early-mentioned urgent and important matters have been solved. Also, the purposes of space exploration campaigns should be studied carefully and other alternatives should be considered before the money is wasted.