Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

These days, there is a significant difference between men and women ’s sports coverage on TV. I believe that women ’s sport should get just as much coverage as men ’s, and will outline my reasons in the following essay. To begin with, there are many reasons for the dominance of men athletics programs on television(1). Due to a large proportion of sports viewers being male, television channels tend to broadcast men's sports programs to maximize their ratings and profits. Take football as an example. Inside a coffee shop, it is common to see a group of young men discussing a recent men ’s football match, while women show a greater preference for(2) discussing other topics like shopping or celebrity gossip. Additionally, because men are usually physically stronger and faster than women, they tend to play at a much higher level(3), which makes men ’s sports much more exciting to watch. However, I am of the opinion that it is necessary for audio channels to provide equal sports coverage for both genders(4). Firstly, it helps to create gender equality in society(5) and increases the participation rate of women in sport. Every time women go out onto the field, they give it their all knowing that their best will likely go unnoticed, and therefore just like men, female athletes should receive full recognition(6) for their effort. Secondly, better media coverage also enables women to make money from endorsements(7) which improve their income. That is to say, more television exposure for female players will lead to major deals with endorsers and higher salaries in the future through advertising contracts. In conclusion, why women ’s sports shows do not receive enough coverage in this day and age results from the aforementioned reasons, and I truly believe that it is necessary to ensure equal coverage of women ’s sports.