Some people say that playing games can be bad for children. Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the boom of technology, video games are gaining in popularity among children and young adults. Some hold the belief that playing computer games is beneficial to their development, while the opponents voice their criticism against it due to the health risks it may pose. However, from my perspective, video games significantly impact the child’s growth if played moderately. On the one hand, gaming can promote children’s health, whether mental or physical state. These virtual games are capable of easing anxiety and helping tackle some mental health issues due to positive chemicals one’s brain produces when they are playing. Moreover, multiples of games such as Sudoku or online puzzles also foster brain development and enhance thinking capacity. Besides, playing games can be an inventive way of exercising. A case in this point is a game called “Ring Fit Adventure - Nintendo Switch”, which requires players to perform an abundance of physical activities and attacks in-game. Appealing these health benefits may seem, there are still some potential pitfalls if children play video games too frequently. Even though games are fun and relaxing to some extent, teenagers may still stand a great chance of being addicted. Gaming addiction is detrimental to various aspects of life, ranging from the broken parent-child relationship to poor academic performance. In addition, in 2018, the World Health Organization declared it a serious mental health issue. Furthermore, most children tend to sit in front of the screen for a long time during the game sessions since only an insignificant number of these games are fitness ones. Consequently, they may suffer from eye strain, visual impairments, or other diseases such as obesity. In conclusion, it is undeniable that playing video games may positively affect a child’s health since it helps them unwind and encourages exercise. However, they should acknowledge the appropriate amount of gaming; otherwise, this can result in severe health hazards.