A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

In recent years, people and mass-media started to evaluate others according to their wealth and personal achievements. Some even believe that values of our ancestors do not already have any significance to us. In this essay I will examine why modern people rejected some of our core principles, but also will give an overview why this is not a widespread practice. Development of technologies and economic prosperity have made people more selfish and angrier. Indeed, such social networks as Instagram and Tik-Tok show a luxury life of modern stars that the majority of youth would like to have. But nobody knows what, in reality, is hidden behind the curtains. For example, a plethora of bloggers do not care about others: they are ready to turn their backs on family and friends. The social-network heroes promote their unsophisticated behaviour among children and young adults, making them disrespect the values of our ancestors. On the other hand, there is an abundance of highly motivated people are striving to change our world for the better. Despite being oppressed by the leftists and current “aristocrats”, they are moving towards their goals by helping others. For instance, Jordan B. Peterson, who is the phenomenon among Western thinkers, is inspirated to show young people that we should not forget who we really are. The professor wrote two fundamental books entitled “12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos” and “Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life” which teach us to respect our traditions and set ourselves to the bright future. What is more, Mr. Peterson calls upon us not to be afraid of modern trends and values since it is in our strengths to combat them. In conclusion, I would like to say that a significant number of people have forgotten that with every right comes responsibility. Even if modern actors, singers and musicians have rejected such values as honour, kindness and trust, we should withstand the pressure of cultural revolution. The more people educate themselves, the more the values of our ancestors will exist.