Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth rather than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

The life of a celebrity is indeed more about the glitz and glamour, as compared to their achievements in their respective fields. This tends to portray a negative image amongst the gullible youth, who form the notion that materialistic things are an assessment of human achievement. I agree with this notion and will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. For starters, no emphasis is mentioned on the difficulties or the sacrifices that these stars made during their lives, and therefore people will assume that they were just born into it. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo is a famous footballer, whom everyone believes has a good life and all the money in the world. However, no one sees the difficulties he encountered, and the dedication he had when he was a child, and how much he worked to achieve the level of glory that he enjoys today. Consequently, this is what people should focus on, rather than the finished final polished gem. Moreover, this will result in many of the youth, looking for any which way to make it on their own, without the discipline involved. This will at times, also end up getting them involved in unwanted criminal activities which will only damage them further. For example, Mumbai is the hub for Bollywood, and every year many aspiring actors and actresses descend upon the city, looking for their claim to fame. However, when you see the actual statistics, you will realise the dawning truth, that is how many make it as compared to the rest. In conclusion, celebrities are indeed known for their glamorous lifestyles. However, we the adoring public must not look at it as the final product, but instead, we must realise that there is more than meets the eye, and rather be dazzled by the glamour, we must focus on the dedication and discipline which was involved for them to reach this level. If we follow that mantra, then certainly somewhere down the line success will also be in our cards.